Sea Ports in India - List of Major ports in India

 As we all know that Indian subcontinent (South India) is peninsular. where most of the land is surrounded by water. so there are two coasts one is the east coast and the other is the west coast. - Sea Ports in India

{tocify} $title={Table of Contents}

How many coastal states in india?

There are nine coastal states in India.
List of coastal states in India from the west coast to the east coast
West coast - Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala.
East coast - Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, West Bengal.

** Note: Union Territory - Andaman and Nicobar islands

How many ports are there in India?

There are 12 major ports and 205 notified minor and intermediate ports.
List of 12 Major ports

West Coast

State Ports
Gujarat Kandla Port
Maharastra Mumbai Port, Navi Mumbai Port also known as Jawaharlal nehru port trust
Goa Mormugao Port
Karnataka Mangalore Port
Kerala Kochi Port

East Coast

State Ports
Tamilnadu Chennai Port, Ennore Port (1st corporate Sea Port), Tuticorin
Andhra Pradesh Visakhapatnam
Odisha Paradip
West Bengal Kolkata, Haldi

Union Territory 

Union Territory Ports
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair


Previous Post Next Post